More than $200,000 in funding and mentorship to support scholars on their academic journey

Thirty-eight students recently began the 2021/2022 academic year with funds and support to attend a college or university thanks to scholarships from Education Forward Arizona and the Freeport-McMoRan Foundation.

The Education Forward Arizona scholarships, awarded to 15 Arizona high school seniors this year, provide up to $6,000 per year (renewable for four years) for educational expenses. Students come from low-income households and from underrepresented communities.

The Freeport-McMoRan Native American Scholarships, managed by Education Forward Arizona, were awarded to 23 students this year. The scholarships provide $5,000 to students attending a university or tribal college and $2,500 to students attending a community college and are renewable for four years. Students must be an enrolled member of one of the qualifying Tribes or Nations which include the Hualapai Tribe, San Carlos Apache Tribe, White Mountain Apache Tribe or Tohono O’odham Nation.

In addition to the scholarships, each recipient receives specialized support services from Education Forward Arizona Success Advisers, key to ensuring that students successfully navigate their educational path, persist through higher education and graduate with a degree or credential.

“This year, more than any other year, students need as much support as possible as they pursue their postsecondary education,” said Rich Nickel, President and CEO of Education Forward Arizona. “The scholarships help them start the process and Success Advisers help to ensure they persist to completion. To date, our Success Advisers have assisted more than 600 students on their postsecondary journey.”

Education Forward Arizona scholarship recipients include:

  • Alexia Ochoa, Arizona State University
  • Tristin Anaya, University of Arizona
  • Dulce Cardenas Moreno, University of Arizona
  • Evamaria Tanori Contreras, University of Arizona
  • Josephine Reid, Arizona State University
  • Luis Reyes, Arizona State University
  • Alicia De Jesus Armenta, Arizona State University
  • Jose Miranda, Arizona State University
  • Kimberly Alvarado Mata, University of Arizona
  • Kristina Luevano, Arizona State University
  • Rebecca Molina, Arizona State University
  • Ashley Alvarado, Arizona State University
  • Mehrail Lawendy, University of Arizona
  • Ailani Astudillo, Northern Arizona University
  • Jeremiah Martinez, Universal Technical Institute

“The Freeport-McMoRan Foundation is deeply committed to helping students from tribal communities pursue higher education,” said Tracy Bame, President of the Freeport-McMoRan Foundation. “We are especially pleased that we were able to award an increased number of scholarships this year and include the support services for the first time to ensure these students have the best possible opportunity for success. We look forward to following their journey.”

Freeport-McMoRan Native American College Scholarship recipients include:

  • Bigcoat Antonio, San Carlos Apache Tribe, Arizona State University
  • Bernyna Begay, White Mountain Apache Tribe, Fort Lewis College
  • Jaelynn Begay, White Mountain Apache Tribe, Fort Lewis College
  • Tyler Belknap, San Carlos Apache Tribe, Arizona State University
  • Robert Burries Jr, San Carlos Apache Tribe, Mesa Community College
  • Tanjia Clarkson, White Mountain Apache Tribe, University of Arizona
  • Shailene Edwards, San Carlos Apache Tribe, Arizona State University
  • Kristiann Ferreira, San Carlos Apache Tribe, Arizona State University
  • Andrew Garcia, Tohono O’odham Nation, Arizona State University
  • Brisa Garcia, Tohono O’odham Nation, Northern Arizona University
  • Danielle Kouyoumdjian, Tohono O’odham Nation, Tohono O’odham Community College
  • Amanda Paxson, White Mountain Apache Tribe, Northern Arizona University
  • Lourdes Pereira, Tohono O’odham Nation, Arizona State University
  • Mya Radler-Havatone, Hualapai Tribe, Northern Arizona University
  • Desirae Rambler, San Carlos Apache Tribe, Fort Lewis College
  • Priscilla Ramirez, Tohono O’odham Nation, Arizona State University
  • Lindsey Real Bird, White Mountain Apache Tribe, Northern Arizona University
  • Viktoras Sangster-Biye’, San Carlos Apache Tribe, University of Arizona
  • Shannon Taylor, White Mountain Apache Tribe, Tohono O’odham Community College
  • Lizdy Valenzuela, Tohono O’odham Nation, Universidad Estatal de Sonora
  • April Victor, San Carlos Apache Tribe, Eastern Arizona College
  • TayAndre Wright, San Carlos Apache Tribe, Arizona State University
  • Lawrence Zephier-Reed, Hualapai Tribe, University of Washington

About Education Forward Arizona

Education Forward Arizona was created in response to the collective will of leaders from across the state who have said they want bold actions that move education forward in Arizona. The organization is doing this by using its voice to make the case for education as an investment and not an expense, building a network of courageous champions statewide to advocate to close achievement gaps, and scaling up innovative programs that close achievement gaps at all levels. Education Forward Arizona believes that improving the quality of education in Arizona will improve the quality of life for all Arizonans.