Photos courtesy Scottsdale Unified School District

Scottsdale Mayor David D. Ortega hosted a vibrant and exciting celebration for the young winners of the annual “We the People” Constitution Contest recently. This special event, filled with joy and pride, took place earlier this month, gathering over 110 enthusiastic parents, students, teachers, and administrators.

A Time-Honored Tribute to History

The contest commemorates a very important date in American history – September 17, 1797 – the day the United States Constitution was signed. Mayor Ortega emphasized that the contest is more than just a competition; it’s a way to engage with the community and learn about the principles that shape our nation.

Showcasing Diverse Talents

Students from across Scottsdale, including those from Cheyenne Traditional School, Cherokee and Kiva Elementary Schools, Desert Canyon and Mountainside Middle Schools, Chaparral, Coronado, Desert Mountain, and Saguaro High Schools, as well as home-schooled students, participated with gusto! They competed in three categories: art pieces in any medium, essays, and original songs, videos, or educational podcasts.

Judges on the Lookout for Creativity

A panel of judges, led by the Scottsdale branch of the American Association of University Women and Mayor Ortega himself, had the tough job of selecting the winners. They used a special scoring rubric to find the most creative and insightful entries.

And the Winners Are…

The winners in the various categories and grades showcased their incredible talents and deep understanding of the Constitution. Each winner brought something unique to the table, whether it was through a colorful painting, a thought-provoking essay, or a catchy song.


  • First and second grades:
    o          1st place: Caleb Mauer
    o          2nd place: Maddy Parra
    o          3rd place: Aya Alieha
  • Third – fifth grades:
    o          1st place: Éva Malizia
  • Sixth-eighth grades:
    o          1st place: Aislyn Sheard
    o          2nd place: Nick Schroeder
    o          3rd place: Saarah Chegri
  • High school:
    o          1st place: Brian Stevenson
    o          2nd place: Sylvia Strelish


  •  First and second grades:
    o          1st place: Skanda Madappa
  • Sixth-eighth grades:
    o          1st place: Bryn Smith
    o          2nd place: Brady Smith
    o          3rd place: Jude Larsen
  • High school:
    o          1st place: Jesmina deGuzman
    o          2nd place: Noah Bassett
    o          3rd place: Ira Parsons


  • Sixth-eighth grades:
    o          1st place: Audrey Figura
    o          2nd place: Christian Bliss
    o          3rd place: Addison Ward and Addison Corsi
  • High school:
    o          1st place: Betzy Oxlaj Castaneda, Kimberly Lopez, and Linda Lopez
    o          2nd place: Sienna Warner
    o          3rd place: Jaythan Reyna, Joel Garcia Orozco, and Jonathan Guevara


Congratulations to all the participants and winners! Your creativity and passion for understanding the Constitution are truly inspiring.